Club Pimble

National Flag is the pride of every citizen of a free nation. As Mahatma Gandhi said “A flag is the necessity of all nations. Millions have died for it.” With the same conviction towards the “Tricolour”, many protected it with their blood and many are ready to do the same. Know how it transformed into what it is today.

Who designed it?

The National Flag of India we salute, was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an Indian freedom fighter. It was adopted as the National Flag on 22nd July 1947, during the Constituent Assembly.

Evolution of the Tricolour

It is really amazing to see the various changes that our National Flag went through since its first inception. It was discovered or recognised during our national struggle for freedom. The evolution of the Indian National Flag sailed through many vicissitudes to arrive at what it is today. In one way it reflects the political developments in the nation. Some of the historical milestones in the evolution of our National Flag involve the following:

1. First National Flag composed of three horizontal stripes of the colors red, yellow and green. It was hoisted on August 7, 1906 in Calcutta (now Kolkata) in the Parsee Bagan Square.

2.The Second National Flag, The Berlin Committee Flag, hoisted on August 22, 1907. It was raised by Bhikaiji Cama and her exiled revolutionaries in Paris. Unlike the first version, the green strip was at the bottom and the lotus in the first strip were replaced with seven stars representing “Saptarishi”.

3.The Third National Flag was hoisted during the Home Rule Movement, in 1917. This flag was hoisted by Lokmanya Tilak and Annie Besant.

4.The Fourth National Flag proposed by All India Congress Committee. Gandhiji suggested to add the white strip and the spinning wheel to represent all the other communities and the progress of the nation.The red and green colors in the flag represented the two major communities, Hindus and Muslims. It was proposed and adopted in 1921.

5.The Fifth National Flag is marked as the landmark in the history of the National Flag as it gave the “Tricolor” to it. In 1931, It was adopted as the National Flag. This flag contains three strips of the color saffron, white and green, along with the Gandhiji’s spinning wheel. This flag was also the battle ensign of the Indian National Army.

6. The Present Tricolor National Flag of the Nation was adopted as the Free India National Flag on July 22, 1947. Initially being the tricolor flag of the Congress Party was later adopted as “Tricolor Flag of Independent India”. The importance of the colors of the strips remained the same. It was only the spinning wheel replaced with the Dharma Chakra of Emperor Ashoka, depicted to be “the wheel of the law”.

Like this post !


" Very Queer"

May 19 at 3:09 PM

Show More 2 Comments


Captcha : 2 + 6 =